時裝業線上培訓平台視香港為供應商與製造商之間的橋樑

時裝業線上培訓平台視香港為供應商與製造商之間的橋樑

Catherine Cole,首席執行官,MOTIF

香港一直是全球服裝供應鏈的橋樑,我們期望成為行業知識與創新的合作樞紐,因此將總部設在香港十分合理。

Catherine ColeMOTIF首席執行官

請簡要介紹公司背景、來源及發展里程碑。

MOTIF於2018年10月在香港上線,寄望打造一個時裝專業社群,填補業内的巨大技術差距,並為時裝專業人士及企業提供一系列在線培訓材料。我們課程的目標客戶既有業內個別人士,也有需要確保員工具備良好基礎知識和跨部門理解力的人力資源部門或業務團隊。目前我們提供8個線上培訓課程,並計畫在2020年底前增加至少一倍課程。這些課程涵蓋了服裝/時尚行業的技術、商業及軟技能。

為何公司決定在香港設立辦事處?你對香港的初創生態系統有何看法?

MOTIF是香港的初創企業,但我們的源頭可追溯到母公司 Alvanon,它在時裝界有著悠久的歷史,在紐約市設有全球總部。香港目前幾乎沒有服裝製造業,但仍是區內供應商與製造商之間的重要橋樑。香港依然擁有生產專業知識和供應鏈知識,因此我們在這裡建立 “服裝知識樞紐”極具意義。以香港在紡織及成衣製造業的傳統為基礎,由南豐紗廠及其科技創新分支南豐作坊以及香港紡織及成衣研發中心等重要機構引領行業振興,可推動香港成為發展創新科技和解決方案的開放平台,以協助業界應對最迫切的挑戰。

香港的初創生態系統充滿活力,提供大量與不同機構和人士的合作機會。初創社群所專注的領域亦各不相同,是交流思想和超常試驗的有趣地方。我們現在是南豐作坊初創培育計畫的一部分。

可否分享公司在香港和區內的策略性計畫?公司在市場上的價值主張是甚麼?

讓我們獨樹一幟的是我們的垂直專業知識–我們是服裝及時尚行業的知識樞紐。因此,與很多其他公共或私人的電子學習平台不同的是,我們會為有志人士提供一個貫穿供應鏈的互動社群,並讓他們向從業者學習。我們是世界各地向專家學習的最佳平台。我們在2020及以後的計畫,是與業界夥伴合作,擴展我們的內容庫,同時提升社群特色。我們希望能為亞洲各地更廣闊的製造業市場帶來更多培訓機會。我們目前的想法是圍繞著正在開發的一些有趣的新課程而展開的。部分可能涉及基於虛擬實境(VR)的工廠參觀,這是為沒有機會參觀實際生產工場的專業人士而設的。我們亦正探討圍繞策略性採購市場的、針對具體國家及地區的培訓,這些將透過與各地政府合作來部署。鑒於目前的貿易戰,這是一個熱門話題。

MOTIF是一個專為紡織、服裝及時尚業而設計的線上培訓平台。公司爲何決定將這種創新的培訓模式用於這個傳統而不包含很多最新科技的行業? 香港地小便捷,為何線上培訓優於傳統的面對面培訓?

服裝業面臨一些關鍵性的問題,就是對供應鏈透明度的需求、客戶對可持續性的要求,以及在獲利方面的巨大壓力。所有這些都是顛覆性的力量。在MOTIF,我們相信很多解決方案關聯到人,也關聯到我們如何提升他們的技能,讓公司在生產(利用數據與科技)和可持續性(利用新材料與新發展模式)上更高效和創新。我們從各公司所聽到的最大問題是,培訓有時成了一種”負擔”。管理者和僱員的時間太少,往往只能專注於企業的當務之急。因此,培訓必須配合繁忙的時程表,具有參與性和互動性。此外,該行業的內外團隊高度分散,經常地域分隔,因此,在線學習為機構及其供應鏈合作夥伴網絡的跨境培訓提供了一個高成本效益和可持續的解決方案。

你能否與我們分享創業旅程的高潮和低谷?初創企業要在香港成功需要甚麽條件?

我們創業旅程的高潮,必然要數得以讓一些行業巨頭作爲先導用戶登錄使用我們的平台。此外,我們在課程裏傾注了熱愛,推出的每一項課程都是市場上的一個嶄新產品,沒有什麼比客戶的積極接納更好了。當我們感到受資源限制,不能做每一件想做的事情的時候,低谷便來臨了。我們今天是7人的精簡團隊,經常感覺工作時間不夠用,也沒有足夠的資金去做營銷推廣。技能是我們最重要的元素,也是企業營運的關鍵。在這裏,以至任何地方,尋找人才和建立最佳的團隊,並讓團隊不斷學習,對初創企業的成功至關重要。

你對計劃在香港創業的人士有何建議?

融入群體,與人交談!香港仍然是成立公司最容易的城市之一,也是建立人脈、得到反饋最容易的城市之一。 擔心別人竊取想法毫無意義,最好是與人交流你的想法,並獲取反饋,這樣你就可以進步和優化,直到你通過市場檢驗。這是一個緊湊的城市,所以如果你的想法是聚焦本地市場,往往可以迅速得到反饋。如果你的想法是全球性的,香港有各個領域的專家,往往樂意分享經驗和人脈。

香港投資推廣署怎樣協助公司成立和發展的?在你看來,我們的服務對你這樣的公司為何重要?

投資推廣署是連繫和資訊的絕佳資源。在首次聯絡香港投資推廣署代表的最初幾個小時内,我們便展開了會議,探討雙方合作。他們的網絡的易達性和靈活性令人耳目一新。

https://motif.org/

Online Training Platform in Fashion Industry Sees Hong Kong as a Bridge between Suppliers and Manufacturers

Online Training Platform in Fashion Industry Sees Hong Kong as a Bridge between Suppliers and Manufacturers


Catherine Cole, CEO, MOTIF

“Hong Kong continues to be a bridge in the global apparel supply chain, so it makes sense for us to be headquartered here as we look to be the collaborative hub of industry expertise and innovation.”

Catherine Cole, CEO, MOTIF

Please briefly describe the background of your company, its origin and development milestones.

MOTIF went live from Hong Kong in October 2018, with a mission to bridge a critical industry skills gap by nurturing a place for professional community in the apparel industry and to provide a catalogue of online training material for fashion industry professionals and companies. Our courses are aimed at both individuals in the industry as well as corporate HR or business teams that need to make sure employees have sound fundamentals and cross-functional understanding. Today we offer 8 online training programs, with a plan to at least double this by the end of 2020. These courses cover technical skills as well as commercial and soft skills for the apparel / fashion industry.

Why did the company decide to set up an office in Hong Kong? What do you think about the startup ecosystem in Hong Kong?

MOTIF is a start up here in Hong Kong but we trace our origins to our parent company Alvanon with a long history in the apparel industry and global headquarters in New York City. Even though there is almost zero apparel manufacturing in Hong Kong today, the city still retains a critical role as a bridge between suppliers and manufacturers in the region. There is still production expertise and supply chain know-how that sits in HK, so it made perfect sense for us to base our “apparel knowledge hub” here. Building on Hong Kong’s heritage in the textile and apparel manufacturing industry, there is an impetus to rejuvenate the sector lead by actors such as The Mills and their tech and innovation arm Fabrica and The Hong Kong Research Institute of Textiles and Apparel (HKRITA) to make Hong Kong an open platform for the development of innovative technologies and solutions to help the industry tackle its most pressing challenges.

The startup ecosystem in Hong Kong is very dynamic and vibrant, the opportunities for collaboration with its different actors are numerous. The start-up community is also diverse in terms of their domain focus, which makes it an interesting ground for cross-fertilisation of ideas and experimentation beyond the norm. We are now part of the Fabrica incubation program.

Could you share with us the strategic plans of your company in Hong Kong and in the region? What is your company’s value proposition in the market?

What makes us unique is our vertical expertise – we are a hub for apparel and fashion industry expertise. So while there are plenty of other e-learning platforms – public and private, we provide a community for individuals to come and interact with others across the supply chain and learn from practitioners. We are the go-to place for learning from experts around the globe. Our plan for 2020 and beyond is to work with industry partners to expand our library of content and also enhance our community features. We hope to bring more training opportunities to a broader range of production markets across Asia. Our current ideas revolve around some exciting new courses that we are exploring. Some that may involve VR-enabled factory visits for professionals that don’t have an opportunity to visit a production floor. We are also exploring some country and region-specific training around strategic sourcing markets where we will work with governments to deploy. This is a hot topic given the current trade wars.

MOTIF is an online training platform dedicated to the textiles, apparel and fashion industry. What made your company decide to adopt this innovative mode of training for a well-established industry which is not known for embracing the latest technologies?  As Hong Kong is a small place with a convenient transportation system, why online training is preferred to conventional face-to-face training? 

The apparel industry is faced with some critical issues and that is, need for supply chain transparency, customer demands for sustainability and intense pressure on margins. All of these are disruptive forces and at MOTIF, we believe many solutions can be linked to people and how we upskill them so that companies can be more efficient and innovative when it comes to production (use of data and technology) and sustainability (use of new materials and new development models). The biggest problem we hear from companies is that training can feel like a “burden”. Managers and employees are too time-poor and focused on the immediate needs of the business. So training has to fit into busy schedules, be engaging and interactive. Furthermore, the industry is highly fragmented with teams, internal and extended, being often dispersed geographically. Thus online learning offers a cost-effective and sustainable solution to scale training across borders for an organisation and its network of supply chain partners.

Could you share with us the highs and lows of your entrepreneurship journey? What does it take for a startup to be successful in Hong Kong?

The highs of our entrepreneurship journey have to definitely be around getting some major industry players to sign on as pilot users. Also our courses are a labor of love for us, so each one we launch is putting a brand new product on the market and nothing better than getting positive reception from customers. The lows are days when we feel constrained by our resources and not being able to do everything that we want to do! We are a lean team of 7 people today so are often constrained by number of hours in a day and financial resources to market and get the word out. We are all about skills and skills are also the nerve of the game. Finding talent and building the right team here or anywhere, a team that keeps learning on the journey, is critical to the success of a start-up.

Do you have any advice for others who are looking to launch a startup in Hong Kong?

Jump in and talk to people! Hong Kong has to still be one of the easiest cities to set up a company and also one of the easiest to network and get feedback.  There is no sense in being worried about others stealing an idea, but better to be out socializing your ideas and getting feedback so you can evolve and refine until you have market validation. It’s a compact city so if your idea is focused on the local market, feedback can be instantaneous. If your idea is global, Hong Kong has a rich diversity of professional contacts here who are more often than not, willing to share their experience and/or connections.

In what ways has InvestHK assisted your company in its setup and development? In your opinion, why are our services provided important for companies like yours?

InvestHK is a wonderful resource for connections and information. Within hours of first contacting InvestHK representatives, we had meetings set up with them that led to brainstorming on things they could do with us.  The approachability of their network and flexibility is refreshing.

https://motif.org/